LPSS Magnet Academies

For over 20 years, Lafayette Parish School System has offered specialized, theme-driven magnet academies ranging from World Language Immersion to the  Arts.  In 2002,  the Schools of Choice program was established, offering students a more exciting and fulfilling educational experience through a broader range of opportunities. Originally conceived to promote culture diversity, the curriculum offerings have evolved to include valuable educational and personal experiences through innovative practices and compelling modes of instruction, preparing students for the real world. In the Fall of 2017, the Lafayette Parish School Board approved the name change from Schools of Choice to Magnet Academies; taking the program back to its roots, and recognizing that the academy programs allow students to match their interests to their school experiences.



About Us

The Lafayette Parish School System offers magnet academies at various elementary, middle, and high school levels. In addition to providing students the curriculum required by state guidelines, the Magnet Academies offers specialized theme-immersed programs, allowing for more exciting and fulfilling educational opportunities.  Students of Lafayette Parish can apply for admission in the Magnet Academies at appropriate grade levels.  Only applicants who fulfill entry criteria will be eligible for invitation to enroll.



Magnet Academies

Magnet Academies are public elementary, middle, and high school programs that offer curricula designed around a specialized theme or academic focus that attracts students to the school.  An entire campus may be designated as a magnet school or there may be magnet academies within a non-magnet campus.  Magnet academies or schools are successful at increasing student achievement while permitting a student to focus on interests, talents, and even career goals. Lafayette Parish School System currently offers 19 magnet academies across 21 schools in the district.  Academies include World Language Immersion, Arts, Technology, Health, Biomedical, Broadcasting and Journalism, Legal Studies, Business, STEM,  and JROTC.